"Gateway to Innovators from India and Europe using IPRs"

Wednesday, 01 March 2017 11:24

European Patent Office (EPO)

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The European Patent Office (EPO) was set up by an international treaty, the European Patent Convention of 1973. It applies a single, uniform procedure to examine patent applications in any of its three official languages (English, French and German), and thus enables inventors, companies and researchers to protect their inventions in a market of some 700 million people. European patents can also be validated in three further countries, Morocco, the Republic of Moldova and Tunisia. Moreover, the EPO will deliver and administer the Unitary Patent, a single European patent covering the territory of the 26 EU member states that have joined the scheme so far.

From seven founder states in 1973, the European Patent Organisation has grown to 38 member states, including all 28 EU countries. Today the EPO is Europe's second largest international public-service organisation. It employs nearly 7 000 people (4 300 of whom are highly specialised engineers working in three languages) from over 30 countries at its five sites – including its Munich headquarters – in four European countries. The Office is financed entirely from users' procedural and renewal fees and receives no funding from its member states. It has an annual budget of around EUR 2.2 billion.

For further information:


Read 993 times Last modified on Monday, 27 November 2017 10:57